UF Hort Sci Professors Honored at UF/IFAS Awards Ceremony

Drs. Harry Klee, Denise Tieman and Balasubramani Rathinasabapathi from the UF Horticultural Sciences department were honored on May 19 at the 8th Annual UF/IFAS Award Ceremony.

IMG_5136 (1)

Drs. Klee and Tieman were recognized for their patent on an enzyme that synthesizes some of the most important flavor volatile compounds in a tomato fruit. One of those compounds, 2-phenylethanol, is the most widely used flavor and fragrance chemicals. The only natural source of 2-phenylethanol is extraction from rose petals, so even though it is synthesized by the ton industrially, it is extremely expensive.  Understanding the natural synthetic pathway opens up possibilities to enhance its production in plants.

IMG_5132 (1)

Dr. Rathinasabapathi was honored for his research on understanding how plants adapt to stress.  Based on their discoveries about gene function, Dr. Rathinasabapathi’s and his colleagues have been issued utility patents to improve crop plants tolerance to high temperature stress. In their recent research, they have successfully improved rice plants’ tolerance to high temerpature stress using a gene encoding glutaredoxin protein.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s